Tag:Horizon League Tournament Preview
Posted on: March 4, 2008 12:30 am
Edited on: March 4, 2008 5:36 pm

Horizon League Tournament Preview

The Horizon League has had great success in the NCAA Tournament the past few years compared to the rest of the "mid-majors". Butler made the Sweet 16 last year, and Wisconsin-Milwaukee made the Sweet 16 in 2005. UW-Milwaukee also won their opening round game in 2006. The Horizon League is led by Butler, who is nationally ranked in the top 15 in both major polls. The Horizon League got 2 bids last year because Butler did not win the conference tournament. Fellow bubble teams want Butler to win this tournament so the Horizon gets only one bid. The top 2 seeds (Butler and Cleveland State) get byes to the semifinals. Butler has home court throughout the tournament.

Players to watch:

A.J. Graves (Butler)
J'Nathan Bullock (Cleveland State)
Mike Green (Butler)
Paige Paulsen (Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Vaughn Duggins (Wright State)

Game sites are in parenthesis.

Tuesday, March 4- First round (higher seed)

Game 1: (10) Detroit at (3) Wright State (7 P.M.)
Game 2: (7) Wisconsin-Green Bay at (6) Valparaiso (8 P.M.)
Game 3: (9) Youngstown State at (4) Illinois-Chicago (8 P.M.)
Game 4: (8) Loyola Illinois at (5) Wisconsin-Milwaukee (8 P.M.)

Friday, March 7- Quarterfinals (Indianapolis)

Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (6 P.M.)
Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (8 P.M.)

Saturday, March 8- Semifinals (Indianapolis)

Game 7: (2) Cleveland State vs. Game 5 winner (ESPNU, 4:30 P.M.)
Game 8: (1) Butler vs. Game 6 winner (ESPNU, 6:30 P.M.)

Tuesday, March 11- Championship (higher seed)

Game 9: Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner (ESPN, 9 P.M.)


Game 1: Wright State
Game 2: Valparaiso
Game 3: Illinois-Chicago
Game 4: Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Game 5: Valparaiso
Game 6: Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Game 7: Cleveland State
Game 8: Butler
Game 9: Butler

Winner: Butler
Bust: Wright State
Sleeper: Wisconsin-Milwaukee
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com